Status of the National Radioactive Waste Management Facility

Speaker: Daniel Pond, Australian Radioactive Waste Agency.

Hosted by the Nuclear Engineering Panel of Engineer Australia Sydney Branch.

6 pm 16 March 2022  –  Hybrid Event.

Venue: Harricks Auditorium, Engineers Australia Sydney Office, 44 Market St (Mezzanine Floor), Sydney, NSW.

Cost webinar or in-person: EA member and students free, others $30.  Free for members of ANA, contact for code.

To register go to

The National Radioactive Waste Management Facility (the Facility) will permanently dispose of Australia’s legacy and future low-level radioactive waste and temporarily store intermediate level waste.

ARWA’s presentation will discuss plans and progress in establishing the Facility, including an explanation of radioactive waste management landscape in Australia, the need for the Facility, concept design, and how use of the site will change over three operational phases – years 1 to 10, years 30-50, and year 100.

The Australian Radioactive Waste Agency (ARWA) was created in 2020 as Australia’s dedicated radioactive waste management organisation and responsible for the establishment of the Facility to be located near Kimba in South Australia.  The Facility will secure and support the ongoing production of nuclear medicines and diagnostics in Australia, through up-to-date management of existing and future wastes, and will make use of multiple, diverse, engineered and natural containment barriers.

Daniel Pond
Manager, Design and Site, Technical and Safety Branch,
Australian Radioactive Waste Agency

Daniel has extensive experience in radioactive waste management, working in the policy, waste management, regulatory affairs, plant engineer, and specialist arenas.
Daniel’s team is responsible for the site characterisation, design, enabling works design, and detailed business case for the National Radioactive Waste Management Facility – the first facility of its kind in Australia.
Daniel has been with ARWA since early 2020, previously working in a variety of roles at the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation and for the UK Nuclear Decommissioning Authority.