Dr Joanne Lackenby elected President of ANA

Dr Joanne Lackenby (Jo) was elected President of the Australian Nuclear Association (ANA) at the ANA AGM held on Wed 26 August 2020.

Dr Jo Lackenby

Jo is a nuclear safety and licensing specialist at the OPAL Reactor at ANSTO in Sydney.  She is actively involved in both Australian and international nuclear organisations, including the Australian Nuclear Association, Women in Nuclear (WiN) Australia Inc and WiN Global as a member of their Executive team.  

Jo is also a 20192020 “Superstar of STEM”. This is a program that aims to equip female STEM professionals with advanced communications skills to empower them to share their stories with the general public. Jo uses her “Superstar” and nuclear organisation positions to communicate the benefits of peaceful nuclear technologies to the community, media and politicians.

Jo holds a BE in environmental engineering and a PhD in geotechnical engineering, both from the University of Wollongong.

The ANA Committee for 2020-21 is:   

President Dr Joanne Lackenby
Vice President Dr Mark Ho
Secretary & Public Officer Dr John Harries
Treasurer Mr Mark Healy
Committee Mr Ned Blagojevic
  Ms Helen Cook
  Dr Neil McDonald
  Dr Edward Obbard
  Dr John Patterson