Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO)

Speaker: Dr Robert Floyd, Executive Secretary, CTBTO.

12 noon 18 March 2022  –  In-person Event.

Venue: ANSTO Building 72, New Illawarra Road, Lucas Heights, NSW 2234.

A video of Dr Floyd’s presentation is here

For slides used in this presentation click here

Dr Robert Floyd

Dr Robert Floyd received the 2021 ANA Award and the plaque will be presented before the lecture.

The Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) is an international treaty that bans all nuclear explosions,
by anyone, anywhere. The Treaty has been signed by 185 States but does not enter into force until 44 States with significant nuclear capacity have ratified.

The Preparatory Commission for the CTBTO, and its Provisional Technical Secretariat, were established in 1997 and are headquartered in Vienna, Austria. The verification regime will consist of over 300 facilities world wide to monitor the planet for nuclear explosions using seismic, hydroacoustic infrasound and radionuclide technologies.

Dr Floyd will describe the status of the Treaty, the verification system and the steps needed for the Treaty to enter into force.

Dr Robert Floyd

Dr Robert Floyd began his tenure as Executive Secretary of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) on 1 August 2021. He is the fourth Executive Secretary of the CTBTO.

Prior to joining CTBTO, Dr Floyd was the Director General of the Australian Safeguards and Non-proliferation Office (ASNO) from 2010 to 2021, where he was responsible for Australia’s implementation of and compliance with various international treaties and conventions including the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty, Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty, Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material (CPPNM) and the Chemical Weapons Convention.