ANA 2021 Award to Dr Robert Floyd

Dr Robert Floyd

Dr Robert Floyd receives the ANA award for 2021 in recognition of his outstanding leadership role as Director General of the Australian Safeguards and Non-proliferation Office (ASNO). He has demonstrated outstanding commitment to nuclear non-proliferation, disarmament, security, safeguards and accountability. Through his leadership role at ASNO, he has been a major contributor to Australia improving its score and maintaining its high ranking on the international NTI Nuclear Security Index.

Dr Floyd has strongly contributed to international nuclear security. He is Co-chair of two working groups of the International Partnership for Nuclear Disarmament Verification, 2015 to present , and was Chair of the Standing Advisory Group on Safeguards Implementation, advisory to the Director General of the International Atomic Energy Agency, 2012 to 2021; and Co-chair of the preparatory process for the review of the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material as amended, 2019 to 2020.

Dr Floyd was appointed to the position of Director General, Australian Safeguards and Non-proliferation Office (ASNO) in December 2010.  In that role, he was responsible for Australia’s implementation and compliance with regard to the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty, Chemical Weapons Convention and the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty as well as engaged in further development of safeguards and non-proliferation regimes.

Prior to this appointment as Director General of ASNO, Dr Floyd served for more than seven years in the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet (PM&C) providing advice to the Prime Minister on policy issues covering counter-terrorism, counter-proliferation, emergency management, homeland and border security. Before that, he spent nearly 20 years working in CSIRO as a research scientist in biological sciences.

On 20 May 2021, Dr Robert Floyd was elected to lead the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) as its Executive Secretary.  He is the first Executive Secretary elected from the Indo-Pacific. With 185 State Signatories, the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) aims to end nuclear weapons testing worldwide.

The Award will be presented to Dr Floyd in early 2022.