ANA2023 Conference

The 15th Australian Nuclear Association Conference on Nuclear Science, Technology and Engineering in Australia.

Choices in Nuclear.

9 am – 5 pm Friday 6th October 2023. 

UTS Aerial Function Centre, Level 7, UTS Building 10, 235 Jones Street, Ultimo, NSW 2007.

Focussed on developments in Nuclear Science, Technology and Engineering.

    • Progress in Nuclear Energy around the World
    • SMRs and Advanced Reactors
    • Applications of Nuclear Techniques
    • Nuclear-powered Submarines
    • Role of Nuclear in addressing Climate Change

ANA2023 Conference highlighted the achievements and future uses of nuclear science, technology and engineering in Australia and overseas. Presentations gave timely updates on a wide range of nuclear applications and technology. This was a great opportunity to hear from experts and discuss new developments.


Session Chair:  Mark Ho, ANA President

ANSTO’s Role in Australia’s Nuclear Future. Pamela Naidoo-Ameglio, Group Executive, Nuclear Operations and Nuclear Medicine, ANSTO. (Paper 1)

Click here for Pamela Naidoo-Ameglio’s slides

Click here for video of Pamela Naidoo-Ameglio’s presentation

United States Bipartisan Policy on Nuclear Energy. Jeff Navin, Boundary Stone Partners. (Paper 2)

Click here for Jeff Navin’s slides

Click here for video of Jeff Navin’s presentation

Effect of Nuclear Energy on Total System Electricity Costs. Stephen Wilson, University of Queensland (Paper 3) 

Click here for Stephen Wilson’s slides

Click here for video of Stephen Wilson’s presentation

How Nuclear could contribute to Net Zero by 2050, Ted O’Brien MP, Federal Member for Fairfax, Queensland, Shadow Minister for Climate Change and Energy (Paper 4)



Session Chair: Helen Cook GNE Advisory

Westinghouse Technology Solutions: Reactors from 5 MWe to 1000MWe. Rita Baranwal, Chief Technology Officer, Westinghouse Electric Company (Paper 5)

Click here for Rita Baranwal’s slides

Click here for video of Rita Baranwal’s presentation

TerraPower: Natrium Reactor and Integrated Storage. Jeff Navin, Boundary Stone Partners (BSP) and TerraPower (Paper 5)

Click here for Jeff Navin’s slides

Click here for video of Jeff Navin’s presentation

Ultra Safe Nuclear Corporation – Micro Modular Reactor (MMR). James Voss, Managing Director, USNC Australia (Paper 6)

Click here for James Voss’ slides

Click here for video of James Voss’s presentation


Session Chair: Michelle Durant, AINSE

Nuclear-Powered Submarines for Australia.
Vice Admiral Jonathan Mead AO, Director-General of the Australian Submarine Agency, Royal Australian Navy.  Presented by Jasmin Craufurd-Hill, Assistant Director-General, Technology Enterprise, Australian Submarine Agency. (Paper 7)


Regulatory Framework for Nuclear and Radiation Facilities in Australia. Jim Scott, Chief Regulatory Officer at Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency (ARPANSA) (Paper  8)

Click here for Jim Scott’s slides

Click here for video of Jim Scott’s presentation

Stawell Underground Physics Laboratory. Prof Virginia Kilborn, Chief Scientist, Swinburne University of Technology (Paper 9)

Click here for Virginia Kilborn’s slides

Click here for video of Virginia Kilborn’s presentation

SILEX Laser Isotope Separation Technology, Dr Michael Goldsworthy, Managing Director and CEO, Silex Systems

Click here for Michael Goldsworthy’s slides

Emergency preparedness, people, and capability. The drive behind ANSTO CORIS360 technology to find a lost radioactive capsule. Rhiarn Hoban and Bronte Sial, ANSTO

Click here for Rhiarn Hoban and Bronte Sial’s slides

Click here for video of Rhiarn Hoban’s presentation

Session 4: Panels

Panel 1: Growing the Australian Nuclear Workforce

Moderator: Jasmin Diab, WiN Australia

Panel:         Rita Baranwal, Westinghouse
                    David Gillespie MP, Parliament of Australia
                    Pamela Naidoo-Ameglio, ANSTO

Panel 2: Australia’s Nuclear Energy Opportunities

Moderator: Jo Lackenby, ANA

Panel:         Tony Irwin, SMR Nuclear Technology
                    Carl Marcotte, Candu Energy Inc.
                    Ted O’Brien MP, Parliament of Australia
                    Stephen Wilson, Univ Queensland

Click here for ANA2023 Program

Principal Sponsor